top of page
Search
  • Mamie Ogata

EXPERIENCE OF BEING INJURED



Approximately about 8 weeks ago, I inadvertently injured my right knee and resulted in fine cracks appear in the patella.

From this accident, I have learnt many different things from impediment in walking due to injury.

There is a phrase in Japanese that says 『怪我の功名』 ” Injury merit “ The meaning is as follows: What it seems to be a failure or negligence has surprisingly induced good results. The good result of this injury for me is that I can understand the feelings of an injured person.



Prior to this injury, I was fortunate to live a healthy life without serious accident.

I have reaffirmed from my family, medical staffs, friends, colleagues, and other people came across to me about my suffering and they shared their feeling with me.

I am working as an Elderly Care Service Consultant, so I thought I could understand the feelings of the other elderly people.

There are occasions which I can understand each other from my life experience, other than that I can only try my best to imagine their feelings.

It is a great asset for me to be able to understand the feelings of people who are injured and physically handicapped through this valuable experience

Unfortunately, I could understand only a little about what I had experienced but I am grateful that I have taken a big step from only imagining the feelings of other people in similar suffering.



Unexpectedly, my feelings are quite frustrating during medical treatment.

It was very painful that I could not do what I usually do because of an injury.

Here are some of my frustration during my recuperation, as follows:

  • Instructing helper to fetch something for me, I need to spell out exactly where the item has been placed such as telling the helper: I need the smallest box in the drawer, 3rd from top and 2nd from left. (It will be more frustrated when you forget where you put it)

  • Seeking help from others!

  • Feeling of being helpless!

  • Too much free time!

  • Bothered by people being running around!



  • Schedule cancelled, postponed, rebooked, and rescheduled!

  • Cannot eat your favourite food!

  • Sleeplessness!

  • Being monitored by family members!

  • Unusual kindness!

  • Less privacy, etc.

Maybe it is only me but I physically have to live through this frustration.




For sure I am not just frustrating all the time.

I am also happy to realize many things that I have not noticed or did not care before.

Such as,






– Kindness from strangers! – An unexpected person worried about my injury! – Witnessing the kind acts of people towards me in the city!



Naturally, it is best not to get injured but unlucky when one has got hurt please enjoy a happy surprise instead of just looking at the negative side of things.


There is only one month left in 2020, but for the past year, Covid-19 has forced people all over the world to have a lifestyle that they have never experienced before.

It is really hard to accept this situation, which we do not know how long it will last.

I believe it is important to be relaxed oneself and enjoy every day as much as possible before one loses one’s patience.

Please secure your personal time and reward for yourself.

Please take good care of your precious body and spirit.

Stay Safe Keep Healthy and Let’s enjoy a Happy Life !!!










Stay safe, keep healthy and happy !!!


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Mamie H.Ogata Principal of OEUF Limited Born in Hong Kong and educated in Tokyo. Returned to Hong Kong after eight years in Shanghai. Family’s background in medical, change her profession into Elderly Care after 20 years spent in architecture. An entrepreneur who introduces Japanese Elderly Care to Hong Kong from a different perspective. With partnerships in Japan and Taiwan.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

VIRUS

bottom of page